Currently viewing: Home

Summer Shows

We kick off a series of summer shows that sees us hit some great UK and European festivals on Wednesday with a trip to Fusion Festival in North Germany. Here is our schedule, for more information have a look at the tour page.

Posted in Uncategorized | Comments closed

New Single: Fourth Wall b/w The Revival – Out Monday 25th February

vorka draft 2 JPEGFourth Wall is one of the bouncier tracks from the last album, and the ‘B-side’ of this release is The Revival - a previously unreleased tune we have been using as an encore at many of our live shows in the last year or so, which we have finally decided to release due to popular demand..

It started life as a remix for a great band from Liverpool who were called Kinetic Fallacy – and still prominently features Hannah Peel (violin) and Emma Welsby (vibraphone), who wrote the original track.

The single is released on Monday 25th February as a digital download on Tru Thoughts records. You can buy direct from the label at their Etch Shop here, or at iTunes and other digital retailers.

Following the single release, the Archipelago tour returns to the UK this month, and we are particularly looking forward to debuting our new audio-visual show in Glasgow and Edinburgh next week. We’ll be playing a bunch of new tracks alongside some old favourites at the following places. For a full list and links to venues see our website.

23 ● London ● Koko (Tru Thoughts Night)
28 ● Glasgow ● Oran Mor*

01 ● Edinburgh ● Queens Hall*
08 ● Manchester ● Band on the Wall
09 ● Bristol ● Thekla
10 ● Brighton ● Blind Tiger Club
16 ● Aberdeen ● The Tunnels

18 ● Oxford ● The Cellar
19 ● Nottingham ● Contemporary Arts Centre
20 ● London ● Koko*These shows feature visuals and lighting from Lumen.

Posted in Uncategorized | Comments closed

Archipelago News: Album Pre-Order, European Tour, AA Single, Video

trucd261 Our second studio album, Archipelago, is due out on the 1st October on Tru Thoughts (CD & digital) and Denovali (2xLP). Tru Thoughts are now taking pre-orders for the CD now – and for the very special price of £6. Go here to place an order.

On Monday 10th September Tru Thoughts are releasing a AA digital single featuring two tracks from the album. Vorka features our long-time guest cellist Su-a Lee playing the musical saw atop a hip-hop breakbeat, while Spoken represents a slightly new direction in our music, and features some acrobatics on the trumpet from Phil Cardwell, who you may have seen play with us at shows this year. We won’t go any further with the descriptions, listen for yourself here. Buy the digital bundle here.

There is also a brand new video to accompany Vorka, direct by Lumen. Check it out:

And to accompany all of this exciting news we will be touring around Europe promoting Archipelago over the next few months. You can see where over at our Dates page. We should have some more dates to add soon.

Posted in Uncategorized | Comments closed

2nd Album Announcement – ‘Archipelago’


We are pleased and delighted to announce the second Hidden Orchestra album!
‘Archipelago’ will be released on October 1st…

The artwork used for the cover, as with Night Walks and the Flight EP, is again by Norman Ackroyd – it’s a detail from an etching called ‘Roareim’, and is of the Flannan Isles in the Outer Hebrides off the west coast of Scotland, on a boat trip last summer on which Norman was joined by Poppy and Joe – it also features in this year’s Royal Academy Summer Exhibition.

Posted in News | Comments closed

Flight Mixtape


The Flight Mixtape went online back in January, and has had a great response across various sites.
Joe made it to celebrate the release of the Flight EP – starting and finishing with different versions of title track Flight, with the mixtape speeding up throughout from 70bpm to 140bpm.

Features the usual eclectic and intricately-woven selection of music, sound effects, acapellas, interviews, and spoken word.

Stream on Mixcloud, or download (320kbps mp3) from Paris DJs (right-click on the ‘download button’ below tracklisting)…

Posted in News | Comments closed